Cultural Triangle in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka’s Cultural Triangle is rich in history, covering ancient cities of Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, Dambulla and Habarana as well as the last Royal Capital, Kandy (Further details on Kandy available in the hill country region). This area encompasses timeless Anuradhapura historical places, Polonnaruwa Vatadage and other things to do in Polonnaruwa, the Sigiriya Rock Fortress and what to do in Sigiriya; the Golden Cave Temple and places to visit in Dambulla and more.

Apart from these attractions, there are places of significance such as the citadel of Yapahuwa and the Ritigala forest monastery. The region is also famous for large gatherings of Asian Elephants at the Minneriya, Kawudulla and Wasgamuwa National Parks.


  • See the sacred and oldest living tree in the world Sri Jaya Maha Bodhi at Anuradhapura.
  • Visit Mihintale Mountain being the birthplace of Buddhism.
  • Witness the Elephant Gathering at Minneriya National Park
  • Ascend the Sigiriya Rock Fortress and walk through Ritigala forest monastery.
  • Gaze beautiful wall paintings at the Golden Cave Temple at Dambulla
  • Bird watching and Cycling in Habarana
  • See Gal Vihara and ancient royal ruins of Polonnaruwa

Destination Map