Free visa to Sri Lanka for 48 countries

The government of Sri Lanka has officially implemented a Visa Fee Exemption programme for 48 countries which will commence from the 1st of August 2019 for six months.

The Controller General of the Department of Immigration and Emigration has stated that this facility can be given for one month only and if any extension needed, the usual process needs to be taken. This facility is available through ETA (Electronic Travel Authorisation) and also from the special counter upon arrival at the Airport.

The list of countries which have been given visa fee exemption are as follows:

Austria, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom  and United States of America.

Previously visa fee through ETA was $20 for India and other countries it was $30 and an additional US $5 more for visa on arrival.